fbpx Jesuit Social Services - Our commitment to gender equality

Our commitment to gender equality

Respecting and supporting personal culture and cultural diversity, including age, gender, religion, sexual orientation, Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CALD), Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islanders, and people with a disability, is inherent in Jesuit Social Services’ Vision.

Jesuit Social Services is committed to providing a working environment that embraces and values diversity and inclusion, and is an Equal Opportunity Employer.

Journey to rainbow tick and beyond

To demonstrate our commitment to inclusive services for LGBTIQA+ participants, Jesuit Social Services is preparing to be accredited for the Rainbow Tick in 2021. The Rainbow Tick is a national accreditation program for organisations that are committed to safe and inclusive practice, and service delivery for LGBTIQA+ people.

The six Rainbow Tick Standards are:

  • Organisational capability
  • Workforce development
  • Consumer participation
  • A welcoming and accessible organisation
  • Disclosure and documentation, and
  • Culturally safe and acceptable services.

To determine how to meet the Rainbow Tick Standards the Rainbow Tick Staff Advisory Group (RTSAG) was established in 2019. Staff in the group are from program and non-program areas, and are representative of the diversity which exists within the organisation.

Since the initiation of the RTSAG a quarterly Rainbow Tick Newsletter has been established, which is distributed to all staff givingupdates on process developments/changes as determined by the RTSAG. The newsletter highlightsrelevant upcoming items on the training calendar and on LGBTIQA+ events.

LGBTIQA+ resources are updated regularly and are available to staff. The Board is provided with regular updates on progress to achieving the Rainbow Tick.

Once we’ve achieved accreditation we will be able to display the Rainbow Tick logo which will confirm our commitment as an LGBTIQA+ inclusive organisation to our participants, staff and community.