fbpx Jesuit Social Services - Governance

Our governance structure

Jesuit Social Services is a work of the Australian Jesuit Province. We operate under an independent Board of Directors as an incorporated organisation.

Our legal status

Our legal status is defined as:

  • A company limited by Guarantee
  • A Registered Charity holding an Endorsement for Charity Tax
  • Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR)
  • Concessions and Public Benevolent Institution (PBI) status, allowing tax deductions for donations
  • Fringe Benefit Tax (FBT) exempt

A full set of our financial accounts is available to download.

Our Board

Our Board sets the strategic direction and oversees the performance of the organisation. It contains 12 non-executive members – the Chairman, six Provincial Appointees and six independent Directors.

All Directors have a strong commitment to social justice and to ‘Building a Just Society’.

Directors receive no remuneration for their role on the Board. They accept full responsibility for our governance, in accordance with the Australian Corporations Law, the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits legislation and community standards.We regularly review the composition and performance of the Board to ensure it has an appropriate mix of skills and experience and  operates effectively.


Ms Patricia Faulkner AO, Chairman of the Board

Patricia currently chairs the Boards of Jesuit Social Services, the Commonwealth Bank of Australia CEO Advisory Panel and the Melbourne Racing Club Foundation. She is a board member of the Melbourne Theatre Company Board, VicSuper Board, a member of the Melbourne Racing Club Committee and Deputy Chair of Catholic Professional Standards Pty Ltd.
In 2016, Patricia served as a Deputy Commissioner to the Victorian Royal Commission into Family Violence.

She was a previous Global Lead Partner and National Partner-in-Charge, Health Sector at KPMG and a previous Secretary of the Victorian Government Department of Human Services. She held a number of roles with the Victorian Government over a period of more than 20 years. Patricia has held a diverse range of high level positions, including Director of Consumer Affairs (Victoria) and Director of Occupational Health and Safety. She is a Fellow of the Australian College of Health Services Executives and a National Fellow of IPAA.

Patricia’s other previous positions of note include: Chair Superpartners, Deputy Chair St Vincent’s Health Australia, Chair of the Board Peter Mac, Chair of the Australian Social Inclusion Board, Chair National Health Performance Authority, Member and Chair of the Federal Government’s Health Infrastructure Fund, Member of the Commonwealth Grants Commission, Member of the COAG Reform Council, member of the Companies and Securities Advisory Committee, Chair of the EPAC Enquiry into Childcare in Australia, Superpartners, and the Melbourne International Arts Festival Board.

Patricia was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2008 for service to the community through the development and implementation of public policy relating to health, aged care, children’s services, disability services and housing. In 2013 Patricia was recognised with an Honorary Doctorate from Monash University. She also received a Centenary Medal in 2001 for services to Public Administration.

Assoc. Prof. Margarita Frederico

Associate Professor Margarita Frederico, Jesuit Social Services Board MemberAssociate Professor Margarita Frederico is Graduate Research Coordinator Social Work and Social Policy, La Trobe University. Margarita has extensive experience in teaching, research and evaluation in relation to social work and social policy with particular emphasis on family and child welfare, trauma and child well-being. She has worked in practice, teaching and research in these areas internationally. She is a Life Member of the Australian Association of Social Workers and of Berry Street. She currently chairs the Compeer Advisory Committee of St Vincent De Paul and is a Director of Odyssey House Victoria.

Inala Cooper

Inala Cooper is a Yawuru woman from Broome in The Kimberley, Western Australia. She grew up in South West Victoria on Gunditjmara land and has lived on the land of the Kulin Nations in Melbourne for over 20 years. Inala has a Masters in Human Rights Law and is an advocate for Indigenous rights and social justice. She encourages young Indigenous people to connect with their culture and find strength in their identities. Inala is Director Murrup Barak, Melbourne Institute for Indigenous Development at University of Melbourne and a Director on the Board of Culture Is Life.

Christiana McCudden

Christiana McCudden has practised in commercial litigation and payments law for more than fifteen years. She advises clients in respect of commercial and corporate disputes and also advises a variety of public and private entities in respect of payments regulations and contractual arrangements.

Formerly a special counsel with Corrs Chambers Westgarth, Christiana joined Gilbert + Tobin Lawyers in 2014.

Separate to her work in private practice Christiana worked as the Deputy CEO of the Hope Vale Aboriginal Council in the Cape York region of Queensland in 2003. She was part of the Victorian Law Reform Commission team during 2006 to 2007 which worked on the Civil Justice Review pursuant to terms of reference from the Victorian Government.

Christiana has a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Melbourne.

Patrick Allen

Patrick Allen is a criminal defence lawyer. His law firm, Patrick Allen Law, predominantly represents children and young adults. Patrick is also a qualified social worker. Prior to being a lawyer he worked for a decade in various fields including child protection, youth justice, community development and homelessness. Patrick was also previously an employee of Jesuit Social Services and he was educated by the Jesuits for 8 years at Xavier College.

Justin Lachal

Justin Lachal has over 20 years’ experience in the accounting and finance sector, which has included roles with KPMG and the ANZ Banking Group. Justin is a fellow of the Chartered Accountants and has completed an MBA at Melbourne Business School. Justin has served as treasurer or finance committee member for a number of not-for-profits, including the School of Optometry and LaTrobe Accounting School and is currently a finance business partner for relationship banking at the ANZ Banking Group.

Sr Libby Rogerson IBVM

Sr Libby Rogerson IBVM, Jesuit Social Services Board memberA Loreto sister, Libby recently completed her role as Executive Officer of Mary Ward International Australia – the Loreto Sisters’ aid, development and volunteer organisation. From 1999–2009 Sr Libby was Coordinator of Social Justice and Director of Caritas in the Diocese of Parramatta. During this period she had considerable involvement in work with refugees and asylum seekers and was one of the founders of the House of Welcome, providing support, referral and emergency accommodation for refugees and asylum seekers. Libby chaired the Board of the House of Welcome for some years.

Libby is a member of the CLRI NSW Justice Committee, member of St Francis Social Services Board, Deputy Chair Loreto Normanhurst School Council, Board member of CentaCare (Wilcannia-Forbes) and a member of the Loreto Sisters Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation Committee. Libby is also a member of Jesuit Social Services’ NSW Advisory Group.

Julian Butler SJ

Julian Butler SJ is a Jesuit in training who is currently studying a Masters of Philosophy. Julian has a Law/Commerce degree and previously spent three years practicing at a firm specialising in child protection applications and youth crime defence work. Julian is Chair of the Xavier College Social Justice Network.